Day 26: Parker In The Shell

Day 26! Sorry, I am a little late today. I became super distracted with YouTube videos. If there is one thing I am good at, it’s procrastinating. I was also throwing around ideas to write about and I think I found a good one. It’s based on a show from the 90s that I was into.

Have you ever heard of the show Ghost In The Shell? It was actually made into a movie earlier this year. I don’t want to go into the story but I want to talk about an aspect of the series which intrigues me. This show takes place in the distant future and they have mastered the art of transferring someone’s conscious (Ghost) to another cyborg body (Shell).

For the first time in my life, I felt jealousy towards a fictitious universe. I can’t explain to you how exciting the idea of transferring my Ghost to a perfectly working Shell. This might be selfish of me to say but I want to live forever. I would love to see how far humanity can make it. The idea of seeing thousands of leaders and major events happen over multiple lifetimes is one of my dreams.

Imagine the amount of suffering we could eliminate by being able to transfer a ghost from a body that is dealing with a terminal condition. Cancer, ALS, heart disease, and many others would all become a thing of the past.

I might be biased towards this particular matter given my situation. It was sure fun getting lost in this idea while I watched this show. I remember having multiple dreams about the universe this show took place in because of how fascinating being a Ghost in a shell would be. Maybe one day it will become a reality, if not for me, at least for others in the future who are in a similar situation.

Here is the trailer for the newest movie but I highly recommend watching the animated movie from the 90s.

I am going to be honest with all of you, I was struggling to put my words together with this post. I apologize if it doesn’t flow well, my brain is just a little off today. I hope you found a little enjoyment out of it though. I will be back tomorrow with a better post. Take care!

Related image

Leave a Reply

